The 18 Days of Christmas

I had a really lovely Christmas vacation with Colleen and Kate, and while I am sad that they are no longer here and that I have to go back to work in 2 days, I am so thankful that I had this time with good friends. We had lots of great adventures and quiet days by the pool/ocean to recover. I am tanned, rejuvenated and ready to face semester 2.  Or, I will be once I fight off this nasty cold that has decided to attack my body. Who gets a cold in the tropics?

While you would certainly be bored by the entire play by play of the trip, there were some highlights that must be mentioned.

On Christmas Eve, Kate and I went on a motorbike tour of the Mekong Delta with Phuc and Nghi. Phuc is a tour guide who has a friend in the States who was friends with Rena and Gary, my co-workers and neighbors. So now Phuc is practically employed by the staff of the school as our personal tour guide, and he is phenomenal. By the end of the tour, Kate and I were half in love him. It was great to get out of the city and Phuc took us to see several local businesses.  We met an 85 year old woman who makes rice paper with her family, bought coconuts from a  family who husks them to sell in Saigon, and we bought delicious coconut milk, rice, and bean treats wrapped in banana leaves. The best was riding through narrow little alleys surrounded by water and seeing how people live. We stopped for lunch and visited a local food market where we scored some more pomelo for Trang to chop up for us. Yum! By the time we arrived home our bums and hips were extremely sore from sitting on a motorbike for at least 8 hours, but we did the T25 stretch video and felt renewed.

IMG_1424

So peaceful and green

IMG_1427

Kate with Phuc

IMG_1429

rice paper drying in the sun

IMG_1433

The man mixing up the milk and rice to make the rice paper

IMG_1436

The dear old woman making the rice paper

IMG_1438

Some of the finished products out to dry; the number of coconut husks was amazing. They use the coconut milk to cook the rice.

IMG_1440

We visited a temple

IMG_1441

I loved the view of the gardens

IMG_1446

Lots of large statues. I really don’t know what they are about. I do like Kate’s braid in the shot though

IMG_1451

Some lotus plants – this is the traditional flower of Vietnam

IMG_1464

rolling leaves for the coconut/rice treats

IMG_1479

passed some pigs on the road – I thought Dad would like this trailer

IMG_1481

chopping down coconuts to sell on the streets of Saigon

IMG_1483

one of the little towns we passed through

IMG_1485

stretch break selfie

IMG_1486

empty open roads

 

On Christmas day, we made pancakes and mimosas for breakfast and then spent most of the day at the pool. That night we went downtown for a fancy dinner at the Refinery, and then walked around lots of construction until we ended up watching a blues band from New Orleans play at Broma, a rooftop bar. A very different Christmas than I am used to, but lovely in its own way. Kate and I both got some FaceTime with our families thanks to technology.

IMG_1488

My tree and poinsettia with some gifts!

IMG_1489

Kate with some goods

IMG_1491

Christmas = pool day

IMG_1492

Merry Christmas selfie

 

Then Kate and I had 2 more days before Colleen arrived, and we spent them shopping and cafe-hopping downtown and laying by the pool. We did manage to exercise and sleep well. Kate was divine company even when we weren’t doing the most exciting things.

IMG_1505

ladies who lunch

 

On the 28th, I picked Colleen up early in the morning (2:30amish) and then brought her home for a bit of rest. When we woke up, we went to the spa for massages before she had to get back on a plane that evening for our trip to Hoi An. Hoi An is a coastal town in central Vietnam, and it was the place I was most excited to visit when I moved here. I had heard rave reviews, and it mostly lived up to its beloved reputation. The architecture was charming and the cool weather was pretty great (though I should have packed warmer clothes because apparently I find 70 degrees with a breeze very cold these days). Hoi An’s only drawback is the pushiness of people trying to sell things to tourists, but since we all bought some goods, I guess they are effective. The best day was when we went on a bike tour of the countryside. Our tour guides were amazing, and it was nice to get out into the rural areas and meet lots of local artisans and spend some time on the water. We stayed in Hoi An through New Year’s Day, and we all had lots of fun. We got a little chilly beach time and lots of time downtown. We even reunited with Alison, Greg, and Rebecca from work (and their moms) for NYE!

IMG_1510

Sleepy Colleen on her 2nd flight of the day. We loved the photo bomber in the next row.

IMG_1537

I am pretty sure this was my favorite house in Hoi An, but there were so many good ones to choose from

IMG_1556

pictures with some fruit sellers

IMG_1562

both girls holding the traditional baskets

IMG_1565

Kate being adorable by the bridge

IMG_1578

we did a series of jump shots

IMG_1594

Coll likes to stretch before jumping

IMG_1610

lunch at Morning Glory was the best

IMG_1618

I loved this Christmasy bike. Vietnam doesn’t decorate as early for Christmas, but they don’t just take it down the day after either.

IMG_1633

by the river lighting some lanterns

IMG_1650

It was nice to be near water again. After mountains, I like water the best.

IMG_1657

We visited a boat maker.

IMG_1664

and a circle boat maker. These circle boats were originally designed to look like baskets because the French would tax the Vietnamese who owned boats, but they could avoid the tax by claiming these boats were just large baskets. Genius.

IMG_1673

We got to practice paddling the basket boats. It was hard

IMG_1689

Coll posing with our dear guide

IMG_1701

I was not the star basket boating pupil of the day. I needed much help to make it back to shore.

IMG_1726

With our amazing biking tour guides Lily land Trinh.

IMG_1708

Lily and Trinh giving us a language lesson

IMG_1711

We went to see how rice wine was made, but I mostly loved the pigs on the farm.

IMG_1719

Walking back to the boat at the end of our tour.

IMG_1733

After the tour, we biked to the beach, and Kate practiced more jumps.

IMG_1738

Our tour guide Lily came with us to work on her English. We adored her

IMG_1742

The next day we returned to the beach to drink some coconuts and work on our tans. Only Kate actually swam in the ocean. Even though the water wasn’t too cold, the air was for me.

IMG_1747

Kate and I lounging on a couch at Soul Kitchen, a beachside bar.

IMG_1759

lots of water buffalo in Hoi An

IMG_1763

getting ready for NYE

IMG_1774

ringing in the new year with Trinh. Selfies are hard to take, so I forgot to smile.

IMG_1783

another great house

After returning from Hoi An, we only had Kate for one more day, and after that Coll and I spent lots of days downtown and lots of days by the pool. Our highlight was a motorbike tour to the Cu Chi tunnels. I haven’t done many historical explorations in Vietnam, and it seemed like it was time. The system of tunnels that the VietCong soldiers created and lived in was remarkable. I cannot imagine how they endured such small and dark places for such a long time. I was pretty shaken by the day and imagining what life was like for all the young men on both sides of the war. It is remarkable how forgiving and open the Vietnamese are just decades later, and I am glad that I can be part of the process of restoring positive relationships.

IMG_1789

Coll on a cafe break downtown

IMG_1791

Colleen and Phuc lead the way

IMG_1793

passed a tractor

IMG_1795

sometimes Phuc stops to point out strange sights

IMG_1800

A tank at Cu Chi tunnels

IMG_1803

Phuc showed us some milling equipment – all hand operated. I am glad Dad doesn’t have to use this.

IMG_1806

level one of the tunnels

IMG_1809

Colleen in the commanders’ headquarters.

IMG_1811

a cabinet in the surgical room

IMG_1815

The new dessert place in my building was very festive for the holidays

IMG_1816

playing Farkel at a cafe. Thanks for the game, Rachel!

IMG_1820

Having a drink before the AO show.

IMG_1823

This is one of my favorite cafes in D1

IMG_1828

We got lost on a walk and ended up beside a place called Chum coffee. I loved it since I adore the Chumney family. I promise to take any visiting Chumney’s to this location even if it is all the way up in Phu Nhuan district. Good thing Colleen likes to walk as much as I do.

All in all, it was a great holiday, and ready or not work is coming.  I hope you all had a joyous celebration of Christmas and are loving the start of 2015. I can’t wait to hear your stories of the holidays.

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Enjoyed your trips with the gals. Also, glad to see the captions as some of them on facebook postings were a puzzle. I was sure the “rice paper” was some kind of flat bread. So much for that idea. Temperature eased up a bit but we’re getting a bit of freezing precip this morning (12th). Not too bad & I’m not going anywhere at the moment. Will see what happens later. I think we’re on the transition between rain and snow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

